Diary From The Road

Diary from the road.

Saturday 930am – I was on the road 2 hours later than I had expected. I had a sinus headache, darn cotton wood, and needed extra time in getting ready. But everything worked in the end. Made my way through Shreveport, Baton Rouge and Lafayette and arrived in Gulf Port 12 hours later. The drive was long but very easy. Beautiful weather, no rain, no road construction, or traffic jams and the scenery was very green. I’m sure my guardian angel was working overtime.

Sunday 8am

After a good night’s sleep, I was back on the road right on schedule. This is where the trip took a beautiful turn. When I got close to Mobile, the gorgeous downtown skyline was peeking through the pine trees and reminded me of something from a Fantasy movie where the characters are coming through a clearing from traveling through a medieval forest and are met with a high-tech sci-fi-ish city of crystal and glass. Didn’t swerve once off the road as I admired the glass domed high-rise buildings built right on the coast. Before I knew what was happening it all disappeared as the highway led into a tunnel and I came out the other side on a three mile bridge that crossed a tiny piece of the gulf and took me to Pensacola. Once across the Florida state line I turned onto highway 98 the scenic drive along Florida’s outer island coastline and as I passed through Gulf Breeze, Destin, and Fort Walton Beach I admired the clash of 19th and 21st century at its best. High rise beach hotels mixed in with Cracker and Victorian homes made this area unique. Not to mention the multi crystal blue and jade green Gulf of Mexico that hugged the bright white sand dunes. I think the beaches in Destin rival those in the Caribbean. It looked like Mother Nature couldn’t decide what color to paint the seas so she threw in the whole palette. The multitude of shops and funky seafood restaurants tempted me to stop and soak everything in but I had a schedule to keep if I wanted to make my destination by nightfall. Sadly I had to make a decision and turned north to get back on the main highway and had to say goodbye to little old’ Hwy 98. This was a place where I’ll have to come back too someday.

 

 

Sunday 10pm

I made it.  1800 miles latter, a little weary, a little hungry, and ready for bed. I can’t believe I did it!

2 Responses to “Diary From The Road”

  1. Sounds like a great trip so far. Glad you made it without incident! 🙂

  2. I hope you’re able to stop at Destin on the way back! Sounds like a place I could spend the whole week and love it!!!

Leave a Reply

