Enjoying The Moment

I did something this past weekend that I haven’t done for a while. I wrote. Ah what a great feeling. As you know I’ve be creatively stifled for a while as paying bills , ensuring there’s a roof over my head, and my future – – as best as it can be is taken care of. So it was with great pleasure I knocked out several pages. I know it’s a small step but an important one to me because a part from being an analyst 9-5, I’m writer too. I struggled with those pages too arguing with my right brain and telling it to take a vacation. After tying it up and throwing it in the closet, left brain was able to come out and play. I also find writing relaxing even when it torturous. I don’t allow myself enough play time and instead worry that I should be doing something more productive when I’m doing something that I enjoy. So the question is do you sometimes feel guilty when you are doing something that you enjoy when there are things that need to be done? If so how do you just go with the flow and enjoy the moment?

 

2 Responses to “Enjoying The Moment”

  1. You and Sandy did so well this weekend! And I didn’t pump out a word…

  2. You asked, “So the question is do you sometimes feel guilty when you are doing something that you enjoy when there are things that need to be done? If so how do you just go with the flow and enjoy the moment?”

    In your case… When the creative juices are flowing, that’s when you need to recognize that those thoughts are fleeting and take advantage of them. Just because writing is not physical labor, that doesn’t mean that it’s not important and should be put at the bottom of the list. The other things (raking leaves, scrubbing out trash cans, or whatever else it is) will be there in an hour, tomorrow, or next week.

Leave a Reply

