Movie Music

Hey remember my quest for the Clorox music? Well it’ now available for purchase on CD Baby and a portion of the proceeds go to charity. There are a few other songs you also get for $5.99. Both songs; Pirate and Mermaid turned out great and I’ve placed them back to back on my iPod so it sounds like one song.

Speaking of music, I felt I had to add something more to the playlist I created so I went to the iTunes cyberspace mall last night. Oh boy. I have to watch it because I can cyber shop until I drop. $50 bucks latter I had loaded some ass-kicking soundtrack tunes to my iPod.  The good news, I had a gift card for part of the damage. So what did I get?  Hans Zimmer and Steve Jablonsky made up the bulk of my purchases – followed by the collector’s version of Hairspray. <g> Okay so who are these people you may ask? Hans Zimmer composed music to Pirates of the Caribbean (all three movies), King Arthur, Da Vinci Code, Gladiator etc. Steve Jablonsky wrote the music for Transformers. Oh my gosh, this soundtrack is awesome. I fell in love with all 20 songs. I love soundtrack music. It’s great to write to. No vocals, intense, and inspirational. My mind soars into the story.If actors breathe life into a movie then music is the blood that runs through its veins. Without good music I think a movie is flat. A music score can make us feel a character’s internal thoughts like the written word in a book. My point, think ET, Star Wars, Raider of the Lost Ark, Titanic.  Do you remember the music and how you felt during a specific scene? How about when the kids were trying to get ET away from the bad guys riding their bicycles? The theme music played as the kids went soaring into the air. Did you feel hope and triumph? Or how about when Jack and Rose were standing on the bow of the Titanic with their arms stretched out and the wind at their faces before they shared their first kiss? Did you feel the sexual build up between the two? Try watching those scenes with the volume turned down and it just doesn’t have the same effect. So this is why I love movie music. It makes me feel the moment along with the characters.

2 Responses to “Movie Music”

  1. What an interesting blog that you wrote today!! I never thought about it… You are 100% RIGHT about the effects that music have in movies, shows, and everyday life in general! Really liked your comparison of “If actors breathe life into a movie then music is the blood that runs through its veins.” The next time I watch ET, Star Wars, Raider of the Lost Ark, or Titanic I’m going to try your experiment and turn off the sound!

  2. I’m a BIG fan of movie music. And I already knew who Hans Zimmer was (though I have to point out that Klaus Badelt wrote the score for the first Pirates movie – sorry I’m a stinker LOL). I own lots of movie soundtracks and now I’m hot to have the soundtrack for STARDUST. If you haven’t seen this movie, you should. It’s a wonderful fantasy with a happy ending. Yay for HEAs! haha

Leave a Reply

