Hmmmm

So I had a wow moment as an uncomfortable thought worked its way into my brain after learning of Heath Ledger’s death.  It’s still nebulous what happened but the media has been busy focusing on an interview he did sometime last year about his struggle with sleep while filming the next Batman Begins movie. He played the Joker and from what I hear a real nasty villain taken to the next level.  I don’t have the exact quote but he said he was so into character he couldn’t get any sleep because his mind wouldn’t shut off. I was taking a shower when it occurred to me that as a writer I have that problem too sometimes. My hot shower suddenly became very cold as it dawned on me the similarities writers and actors must have in common.

I’m always writing even when I’m not at the keyboard. On my way to work I play songs that feel and sound like the characters in my WIP. Each song conveys a certain mood that if were written words would be a scene or moment in the story. I’m thinking about scenes and characters all the time. My attention span is almost zero sometimes because I’m generating so many ideas.  I’m able to turn it off at work but even that took training. After a good writing session I feel great and accomplished. After a non productive session I feel all bottled up. Crazy I know. But it sure sounds like actors experience the same problem when working on a movie. But don’t worry no Ambien for me. My sleeping habits have been fine, lights out at 11pm like clockwork.

So tonight we are supposed to get sleet after midnight and I’m not looking forward to the temperature dropping any lower than it already has. I think we need a warm up and the weather people say it’s on the way and the weekend will be a nice toasty 60 degrees. Yeah. My house was built in the 70s so when the temp drops below freezing you can really feel it and I’m ready believe it or not for the heat to return.

But here’s something to warm everybody up…it’s HHT!

lml209_l_1.jpg

3 Responses to “Hmmmm”

  1. I have to admire you… 🙂 I wish I was that passionate and dedicated to something as you are about your writing.

    As far as the weather here: Just more cold and damp I think. No ice.

    Thursday night: Rain showers early becoming more intermittent overnight. Low 34F. Winds ENE at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 50%.
    Friday: Rain showers early with overcast skies later in the day. High around 45F. Winds ENE at 5 to 10 mph. Chance of rain 40%.
    Friday night: Cloudy. Low 38F. Winds light and variable.

  2. You know, I never stop thinking about writing either. We are an obsessed lot, aren’t we? 😉

    LOVE the picture!

  3. If you ever stop – that’s when you worry. I got away from it for a year and it is so hard to get back into it.

Leave a Reply

