Traveling Back

ships.jpgI love to travel and take pictures. I wish however I was better at taking pictures and after years of having a digital camera, I’m still an amateur photographer. Like anything practice makes perfect. Sadly I haven’t lately had much of an opportunity to travel. Some of it is me–I don’t like the whole airport thing anymore, and my priorities during my time off have changed. It used to be that I travel to see the world and experience new things–now it’s to get away and relax. That’s probably why I like cruising so much. After a week at sea with a few ports to explore here and there, I feel totally rested. I was going through some of my travel photos the other day figuring out what I was going to with them. I have a cabinet full of pictures and then several folders of CDs. Since I love to simplify I’m thinking that one of these days I’m going to start going through them and put together virtual scrapbooks. In the meantime I thought it would be fun to share a few pictures with you every now and then with some of my recollections of the moment.  The nice thing about digital is that you can take a hundred crappy pictures to get a good one and not have to worry about wasting film. However the next pictures I captured were surprisingly on the first click–one of those wow moments when my finger and artists eye were aligned and magic happened. These were taken in Panama in December of 03’ on a Christmas cruise. I love the history and architecture in Panama. After all it used to be Pirate hang-out headquarters– most notorious was Henry Morgan who took the city in the late 1600s. Driving through the Panama City was like going through a time capsule. I really felt like I was back in the 1600-1700s. There was such a charm to this old and interesting place and this is some place I’d like to return to and explore further.

Panama City

Panama City Street

dancers.jpg

Panama Dancers

2 Responses to “Traveling Back”

  1. LOVED the pictures!!! Yes, definitely post more!

    Paul was stationed in Panama with the Army for 3 years back in the mid-90’s. He’s always said that he wanted to take me back there on a vacation but I’ve always come up with an excuse not to go. (I always thought it would be too much like Mexico… For the most part —> YUCK!) After seeing your pictures, I’m going to keep an open mind and actively look for a cruise or some kind of vacation deal! It looks clean, colorful, and fun!!!

  2. the first pick frightens me–I cannot tell you how much!

    If I ever get on a ship my dream boy-toy better be waiting w/ open arms for me! (With lots of chocolate!)

Leave a Reply

