Going To Try Something New

This was supposed to be posted on Tuesday but I forgot to post the update. Grin.

Okay my hands are shaking as I type this but I have got to put a carrot in front of myself to get the first draft of my book done. I promised myself I would meet a September deadline. Its 3pm’ish and with a work related conference call and an insurance adjuster I haven’t written anything today. I’m so behind. If you could see me, I look like that Indian on the horse whose hanging his head only I’m sitting at my desk in my suburban home slumped over a keyboard. The closest thing to a feather I have is the pink and white boa I have draped around a wireframe flamingo in my office. Pathetic I know. Each day I’ll be blogging about my progress to make sure I stay on course. By my calculations I need to write 4.5 pages a day to reach 400 pages. I can do this! It’s going to be hard but I now that I have a set amount of time in the morning that I can write and it doesn’t need to be perfect, it’s a first draft I have to remind myself. So check in to see how I do.

 

On another note went to the RWA Readers for Life Literacy book signing last night with a good friend. It was the first time she’s gone to this event and she was like a kid in a candy store with 400 authors there. I introduced her to some new authors she might like to read like Sandy Blair, Lisa Kleypas, Shelly Bradley, Catherine Spangler, and my fellow Rosebud authors Denise McDonald, and Amie Stuart  to name a few. But I think the highlight of the evening for her was meeting Suzanne Brockman. Her new book doesn’t come out until August but we got a wonderful signed expert from the book. We were going to see Sherrilyn Kenyon but the line was way too long and her new book doesn’t come out until August either and of course she’s one of my favs so have all the others. There was a whole bunch of people I didn’t get the chance to stop by and chat with. The booking signing event was so huge and there just wasn’t enough time. But I’m sure it raised a lot of money for adult literacy. Now back to thy keyboard and stay tuned.

One Response to “Going To Try Something New”

  1. You wrote: “The closest thing to a feather I have is the pink and white boa I have draped around a wireframe flamingo in my office. Pathetic I know. Each day I’ll be blogging about my progress to make sure I stay on course.”

    First off… I NEED that diva flamingo!!! HAHA!! And second… I will be looking forward to your daily updates!! YOU CAN DO IT!! No more time for horseback-riding with a feather in your head!! Back to that keyboard!!!

Leave a Reply

